Skip to Content
The OECS Turns Heat on Geothermal Energy Awareness

The OECS Turns Heat on Geothermal Energy Awareness

OECS Media Release

November 23, 2023  — The Organisation of Eastern Caribbean States (OECS) Commission has recognised the increasing need for geothermal energy exploration in the Caribbean Region. Considering the current global climate crisis, clean energy alternatives to fossil fuels are necessary to reduce carbon emissions, which contribute to warming of the earth’s atmosphere. Geothermal energy is heat within the earth’s core that can be used to generate electricity.

The OECS, in partnership with the Caribbean Development Bank, the European Union through its Caribbean Investment Facility (EU-CIF) and the Inter-American Development Bank (IDB), are currently executing the Capacity Building for Utilization, Investment and Local Development (GEOBUILD) Project in five OECS Member States. Executing this programme presents several challenges, including a misunderstanding of geothermal exploration because of several myths.

For this reason, the OECS conducted the “Demystifying Geothermal Energy" capacity building workshop in Grenada from November 15 - 17, 2023, to empower key stakeholders to communicate effectively about geothermal energy, addressing misconceptions and fostering regional development.

Recognising the crucial role of clear communication on the subject, the workshop responds to the pressing need for improved messaging and understanding in this specialised field. Its main objectives included:

  1. Promoting and informing the communication community about the GEOBUILD Programme and geothermal energy in the OECS;
  2. Building institutional and technical capacity for communication techniques in Geothermal Energy development; and
  3. Initiating the development of relevant knowledge management and communication products for geothermal energy.

Workshop attendees included GEOBUILD Project Communications Focal Points, Government Information Service (GIS) focal points; personnel from media houses; utilities representatives in Grenada; and persons from the Chamber of Commerce and Energy Units.

The training is expected to have an impact as CARICOM and OECS Member States recognise November as Energy Month. The workshop is expected to result in improved knowledge management and public awareness of geothermal energy at national and regional levels, improved development of geothermal communication material, and enhanced regional coordination for geothermal energy communication.

The three-day event concluded with a site visit to the Grenada Electricity Services Ltd. Power station (GRENLEC), which continues to increase its use of renewable energy alternatives to stabilise energy costs, reduce Grenada’s dependence on imported fuel, support economic growth, and protect the environment.

The OECS GEOBUILD is unlocking the potential of Geothermal Energy for a sustainable future!

About the GEOBUILD Project

The Geothermal Energy: Capacity Building for Utilisation, Investment and Local Development (GEOBUILD) project provides specialised advisory support, analysis and capacity building for geothermal energy development based on the following needs of five OECS Member States, namely, The Commonwealth of Dominica, Grenada, St. Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia and St. Vincent and the Grenadines. 

It aims to enhance geothermal energy development in the OECS and the wider Caribbean, by addressing the challenges and limited capacities concerning human resources, institutions, and regulatory framework for geothermal energy development.

Related News items on “Demystifying Geothermal Energy"
​capacity building workshop in Grenada:
St. Vincent Times
GIS Grenada

Danny Moonie Communications / Knowledge Management Specialist, Organisation of Eastern Caribbean States
OECS Communications Unit Organisation of Eastern Caribbean States






Ocean Governance and Fisheries
About The Organisation of Eastern Caribbean States

Back to

The Organisation of Eastern Caribbean States (OECS) is an International Organisation dedicated to economic harmonisation and integration, protection of human and legal rights, and the encouragement of good governance among independent and non-independent countries in the Eastern Caribbean. The OECS came into being on June 18th 1981, when seven Eastern Caribbean countries signed a treaty agreeing to cooperate with each other while promoting unity and solidarity among its Members. The Treaty became known as the Treaty of Basseterre, so named in honour of the capital city of St. Kitts and Nevis where it was signed. The OECS today, currently has eleven members, spread across the Eastern Caribbean comprising Antigua and Barbuda, Commonwealth of Dominica, Grenada, Montserrat, St. Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, St Vincent and The Grenadines, British Virgin Islands, Anguilla, Martinique and Guadeloupe. 

The Organisation of Eastern Caribbean States
Morne Fortune
Saint Lucia