Skip to Content
St. Vincent and the Grenadines Launches “Love Box” Initiative

St. Vincent and the Grenadines Launches “Love Box” Initiative

Article Courtesy News784

St. Vincent and the Grenadines continues to be a leader in the hemisphere in its fight to reduce hunger. The island nation was notably the first OECS Member State to establish a Parliamentary Front against Hunger and Undernourishment.

In 2015, Dr. the Hon. Ralph Gonsalves, Prime Minister of St. Vincent and the Grenadines, accepted the Zero Hunger achievement award in Rome, Italy from the United Nations Food and Agriculture Organisation (FAO).

The St. Vincent and the Grenadines Zero Hunger Trust Fund continues to deliver to citizens in need. The Government recently launched a “Love Box” initiative to provide support to families which may have experienced food vulnerability during the COVID-19 pandemic.

Starting on 11 May, 2020, Langley Park Palletisation Centre, Lauders Agro-processing Plant, La Croix Palletisation Centre and Rose Bank Community Centre will be the purchasing stations for produce from farmers for redistribution.

Farmers will be permitted to come to these facilities and retail produce to persons wishing to purchase.

The SVG COVID-19 Food Producers Care Programme has three main segments which will all be operational from the above four listed locations:

  1. The Establishment of Farmers Markets;
  2. The "Love Box" Initiative; and
  3. Farmer’s Support Company Access to Credit and Grants.

The Ministry of Agriculture will also provide support to these farmers in the areas of food packaging and transportation.

The process of distribution will be managed by churches and civil society organisations working in conjunction with the Ministries of Social Development and Ecclesiastical Affairs. Purchasing and delivery would be done over a 3-day period (Monday to Wednesday) on a fortnightly basis.

Minister of Agriculture in St. Vincent and the Grenadines, Hon. Saboto Caesar, noted,

“This project will create a significant internal market for farmers. This marketing and distribution support will ensure that our farmers can increase investment in production at a time when SVG’s request for food to be exported to the region is at its highest.”

St. Vincent and the Grenadines continues to export agricultural commodities throughout the region.

The following commodities would be procured at the associated prices:

5 Finger 0.50  
Arrowroot starch 10.00  
Green 0.85  
Ripe 1.05  
Breadfruit 0.80  
Butternut Squash 1.50  
Cabbage 3.00  
Carrot 2.50  
Chive 1.75  
Water 0.60  
Dry 0.80  
Corn on the cob   1.00 each
Corned Fish 12.00  
Cucumber 1.50  
Dashseen 1.20  
Eddoes 1.50  
Egg   15.00/flat
Ginger 3.00  
Guava 1.00  
Lemon 2.00  
Mango (non-julie) 0.55  
Melon 2.00  
Passion Fruit 1.60  
Pawpaw 1.00  
Hot 1.40  
Sweet 4.50  
Green 0.80  
Ripe 1.00  
Pumpkin 0.80  
Soursop 1.50  
Sugar Apple 1.50  
Sugarcane   4.00/length
Sweet Potato 1.20  
Tania 1.80  
Tomato 3.00  
Turmeric 1.50  
Wax Apple 0.50  
Yam 2.00  

Farmers are asked to present a valid farmer’s ID upon delivery and to ensure that all produce are properly cleaned and of good quality.

Interested farmers are advised to contact 784-456-8113 or 784-593-8534.

Agriculture Health Social Policy and Protection
Contact us
OECS Communications Unit Organisation of Eastern Caribbean States
OECS Communications Unit Organisation of Eastern Caribbean States
About The Organisation of Eastern Caribbean States

Back to

The Organisation of Eastern Caribbean States (OECS) is an International Organisation dedicated to economic harmonisation and integration, protection of human and legal rights, and the encouragement of good governance among independent and non-independent countries in the Eastern Caribbean. The OECS came into being on June 18th 1981, when seven Eastern Caribbean countries signed a treaty agreeing to cooperate with each other while promoting unity and solidarity among its Members. The Treaty became known as the Treaty of Basseterre, so named in honour of the capital city of St. Kitts and Nevis where it was signed. The OECS today, currently has eleven members, spread across the Eastern Caribbean comprising Antigua and Barbuda, Commonwealth of Dominica, Grenada, Montserrat, St. Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, St Vincent and The Grenadines, British Virgin Islands, Anguilla, Martinique and Guadeloupe. 

The Organisation of Eastern Caribbean States
Morne Fortune
Saint Lucia