Skip to Content
OECS Commission Announces Sustainable Development Movement (SDM) Ambassadors

OECS Commission Announces Sustainable Development Movement (SDM) Ambassadors

Twenty-one emerging leaders selected from across the region and internationally

Thursday, June 25, 2020 — The OECS Commission, in April 2020, made a call for outstanding, enthusiastic individuals and leaders from the Caribbean and around the world to serve in the capacity of Ambassadors to the Sustainable Development Movement (SDM) 2020 Summit

SDM Ambassadors are responsible for growing the network of Movers for the SDM 2020 Summit while planning and implementing local programmes geared towards spreading awareness about the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) and facilitating discussion forums that will unearth innovative solutions that are positioned to accelerate the glorious come-back of Small Island Development States (SIDS). 

A total of 70 applications were received and after the implementation of a rigorous selection and due diligence process, the decision was made to engage 21 emerging leaders to serve as SDM Ambassadors. 

The OECS Commission congratulates the SDM Movers on their selection and takes this opportunity to introduce them to the OECS Network.

To the SDM Ambassadors, go forth and be great!

​ ​


SDM Ambassadors 2020



Over 20,000 persons around the world have registered their interest in SDM 2020.

Will you #JoinTheMovement?

Register at  ​


​ ​

​ ​

​ ​

SDM Secretariat | OECS Commission
SDM Secretariat | OECS Commission Castries, Saint Lucia
OECS Communications Unit Organisation of Eastern Caribbean States


Health Biodiversity Energy Social Development Disaster Risk Management DCRM Agriculture Business Climate Change Education Tourism Economic Development Trade
About The Organisation of Eastern Caribbean States

Back to

The Organisation of Eastern Caribbean States (OECS) is an International Organisation dedicated to economic harmonisation and integration, protection of human and legal rights, and the encouragement of good governance among independent and non-independent countries in the Eastern Caribbean. The OECS came into being on June 18th 1981, when seven Eastern Caribbean countries signed a treaty agreeing to cooperate with each other while promoting unity and solidarity among its Members. The Treaty became known as the Treaty of Basseterre, so named in honour of the capital city of St. Kitts and Nevis where it was signed. The OECS today, currently has eleven members, spread across the Eastern Caribbean comprising Antigua and Barbuda, Commonwealth of Dominica, Grenada, Montserrat, St. Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, St Vincent and The Grenadines, British Virgin Islands, Anguilla, Martinique and Guadeloupe. 

The Organisation of Eastern Caribbean States
Morne Fortune
Saint Lucia