Skip to Content
Launch of Regional Youth Essay Writing Competition for students

Launch of Regional Youth Essay Writing Competition for students

CARICOM Press Release

The CARICOM Competition Commission (CCC) is launching its inaugural Secondary School Essay Competition, targeting secondary school students between the ages of 12 and 19 years. To be eligible, participants must be resident in a CARICOM Member State and submit their essay on or before 13th December 2019.

The categories and age as at the date of the deadline for essay submissions must be either:

• Category 1: 12-15 years
​• Category 2: 16-19 years.


Students can choose one of the following two topics:

​ 1. “How does fair competition among businesses benefit me and my region?”
​ ​ 2. “How does consumer protection law benefit me and my region”.

The following awards will be given to the winning essays of each category:

•1st prize - USD 1,000.00
​• 2nd prize - USD 750.00
​• 3rd prize - USD 500.00

A prize will also be given to the schools of the winning essays.

Click here to see the terms and conditions for the Essay Competition and here for the application form for the contest.

​ ​ ​ ​

About the CARICOM Competition Commission:

The CARICOM Competition Commission (CCC) was established under Article 171 of the Revised Treat of Chaguaramas (RTC) of the Caribbean Community (CARICOM).  In anticipation of the growth in trade and investments which was expected to emerge from the introduction of the Caribbean Single Market and Economy (CSME), CARICOM took the decision to enhance its competition laws and policy and this was the basis for the introduction of the CCC.

The CCC was inaugurated in January 2008 and over the past decade of operations, it has been engaged in a number of events to promote fair competition and consumer protection in the region in execution of the mandate to facilitate the exchange of relevant information and expertise and develop and disseminate information about competition policy and consumer protection.

​ ​ ​

CCC Essay Competition Flyer 1 CCC - Essay Competition-Flyer 1.pdf - 1 MB CCC Essay Competition Flyer 2 CCC - essay Competition -Flyer 2.pdf - 155 KB CCC Essay Info essay_info.pdf - 224 KB CCC Essay Application Form essay application form.pdf - 518 KB


About The Organisation of Eastern Caribbean States

Back to

The Organisation of Eastern Caribbean States (OECS) is an International Organisation dedicated to economic harmonisation and integration, protection of human and legal rights, and the encouragement of good governance among independent and non-independent countries in the Eastern Caribbean. The OECS came into being on June 18th 1981, when seven Eastern Caribbean countries signed a treaty agreeing to cooperate with each other while promoting unity and solidarity among its Members. The Treaty became known as the Treaty of Basseterre, so named in honour of the capital city of St. Kitts and Nevis where it was signed. The OECS today, currently has eleven members, spread across the Eastern Caribbean comprising Antigua and Barbuda, Commonwealth of Dominica, Grenada, Montserrat, St. Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, St Vincent and The Grenadines, British Virgin Islands, Anguilla, Martinique and Guadeloupe. 

The Organisation of Eastern Caribbean States
Morne Fortune
Saint Lucia