Skip to Content
Application period for the UK Government’s Chevening Scholarships opens

Application period for the UK Government’s Chevening Scholarships opens

Apply now for the 2022/2023 academic year!

The application period to study in the UK on a Chevening Scholarship opened on Tuesday, 3 August and will run until 2 November 2021. Applications can now be submitted online via

Chevening Scholarships are awarded to individuals from all backgrounds who can demonstrate that they have the commitment and skills required to create positive change; and can show how a UK master’s degree will help them do that. 

The scholarship offers full financial support for scholars to study for any eligible master’s degree at any UK university, whilst also gaining access to a wide range of exclusive academic, professional and cultural experiences.

Since the programme was created in 1983, over 50,000 professionals have had the opportunity to develop in the UK through Chevening. There are more than 1,500 scholarships on offer globally for the 2022/2023 academic year, demonstrating the UK’s ongoing commitment towards developing the leaders of tomorrow.

British High Commissioner to Barbados and the Eastern Caribbean, His Excellency Scott Furssedonn-Wood said: 

“If you are someone who is passionate about driving change, whether at home in your country or on a global scale, then a Chevening scholarship could help you achieve these goals. 

There is a lot to be gained from taking that bold step and submitting your application. If you believe you have what it takes to be a Chevening Scholar, I would strongly encourage you to apply before the 2 November deadline.”

The call for 2022 to 2023 applications follows the selection of 13 scholars from Barbados and the Eastern Caribbean, who won awards to study at a UK university from autumn 2021. The 2021 winners will be formally announced in a subsequent media release. 

Successful applicants have been sharing their stories through the #ChosenForChevening hashtag on Twitter and Instagram. For useful tips and information throughout the application period, follow the British High Commission, Barbados on Facebook: UKinBarbadosandEC and on Twitter/Instagram @ukincaribbean to see more.

More information

Visit for detailed information on the eligibility criteria and scholarship specifications.


About the Chevening Scholarship:

Chevening Scholarships are the UK Government’s global scholarship programme, funded by the Foreign, Commonwealth and Development Office (FCDO) and partner organisations. The scholarships support study at UK universities – mostly one year taught master's degrees – for individuals with demonstrable potential to become future leaders, decision-makers, and opinion formers.

Chevening began in 1983 and has developed into a prestigious international awards scheme. Chevening Scholars come from over 160 countries and territories worldwide, and over the past five years we have awarded almost 10,000 scholarships. There are over 50,000 Chevening Alumni around the world who comprise an influential and highly regarded global network.

The name 'Chevening' comes from Chevening House in Sevenoaks, Kent – currently the official residence of the UK’s Foreign Secretary.

Education International Relations Youth Social Development
Contact us
Malissa Brathwaite Communications Officer, British High Commission, Bridgetown
OECS Communications Unit Organisation of Eastern Caribbean States
Malissa Brathwaite Communications Officer, British High Commission, Bridgetown
OECS Communications Unit Organisation of Eastern Caribbean States
About The Organisation of Eastern Caribbean States

Back to

The Organisation of Eastern Caribbean States (OECS) is an International Organisation dedicated to economic harmonisation and integration, protection of human and legal rights, and the encouragement of good governance among independent and non-independent countries in the Eastern Caribbean. The OECS came into being on June 18th 1981, when seven Eastern Caribbean countries signed a treaty agreeing to cooperate with each other while promoting unity and solidarity among its Members. The Treaty became known as the Treaty of Basseterre, so named in honour of the capital city of St. Kitts and Nevis where it was signed. The OECS today, currently has eleven members, spread across the Eastern Caribbean comprising Antigua and Barbuda, Commonwealth of Dominica, Grenada, Montserrat, St. Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, St Vincent and The Grenadines, British Virgin Islands, Anguilla, Martinique and Guadeloupe. 

The Organisation of Eastern Caribbean States
Morne Fortune
Saint Lucia